Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

My Campaign Management

10 ways to improve workplace safety

Introduction

 

If you could save money, improve productivity, and increase employee morale, would you?

 

Businesses spend a huge amount of money each year on costs associated with occupational injuries and illnesses -- expenditure that come straight out of company profit.

 

Workplaces that establish robust Occupational Safety and Health Management Systems (OSH MS) can reduce their injury and illness costs and in today's business environment, these costs can be the difference between operating in profit or deficit.

 

Establishing an OSH MS will also help improve other area’s within your business such as productivity, reduced downtime, improved morale and as a consequence, add value to your business.

 

Your own internal management system will already set a number of outputs that you need to implement including audits and inspection, training programs etc, however below are some area’s which can help deliver improved performance from within your system.

 

Integration

It is now recognized by many leading industry experts that unless a business integrates their business management systems, the chances of success within that organization are greatly reduced. When looking at integration it is vital that Occupation Safety and Health is a component of the overall business management systems. By integrating OSH in this manager, not only will it become easier to implement, however OSH will become part of the normal day to day running of the business, which is the first step in improving Osh performance and developing a strong safety culture.

 

If you currently have a standalone OSH management system, undertake a gap analysis and look at area’s where duplication may occur within the business, common area’s often include contractor management or training. Other departments within the business may already have defined systems, examine how you can add the OSH requirements to their procedures rather than creating an additional procedure.

 

Examine all areas of your business and look at how OSH can be integrated into the outcomes. Try to get people thinking - how to do things safely rather than what do I need to do for safety!

 

Consultation

Consultation with your staff on the development of OSH management system is vital if you are to implement a safety culture and improve performance. Your staff will have a greater understanding of how things are actually undertaken and this information must be integrated into your risk management programs.

 

 

 

Competent people

 

To deliver success it is vital that the people who are working towards this vision are competent and able to deliver the roles expected. Establish gateways within your management system to identify what the competency requirements for specific roles and then measure your staff against them. This will also help develop internal training programs. Make sure that OSH is part of all competency training, as integration is still a key factor.

 

Define your goals

As an organization, it is essential that you define what you want to achieve with regards to OSH performance and from this document how you are going to get there (SMART). High performing organizations will have documented programs to manage the objectives and these will be regularly reviewed and updated.

When developing programs, break these down into small deliverables with achievable timescales. Try to move away from a huge five year plan and think in days, a 100 day plan will have a much bigger impact than a five year plan as people will relate to this – it is now.

 

Engage with your staff when developing programs – encourage interaction and input as this will help drive ownership from you staff.

 

Never be afraid to change or update your programs, especially if they are not meeting the current expectations.

 

Lead from the Front

By managing OSH, managers and supervisors make things happen. It's a linear, practical function, however by leading OSH, managers and supervisors show employees why safety matters, why they should be motivated to get behind it and want to do it.

 

Leadership commitment (or lack thereof) to safety will always show. What your organization’s leaders value is typically what gets done. In great safety cultures, leadership proves their commitment to safety through their actions and how they empower others throughout the organization to win with their safety initiatives.

 

Avoid getting members of top management to do safety walks or tours, although it is good visibility, senior management should be looking at safety all the time, not just when they are told to do a safety tour, this approach will never lead to sustained success. Integrate safety into their normal day and ask them to look at how do they deliver safely, rather than when do I need to do safety.

 

Accountability

As with all other objectives within the business, people should also be judged upon the OSH performance. Typically within poor organizations, the only people with targets and objectives related to OSH performance is the OSH manager, which is totally the wrong person to hold them. All levels of management should have specific targets related to the OSH performance of the business and success, or otherwise, should have a direct impact upon the annual performance reviews of individuals and as such reward packages.

 

Empower your people

To deliver robust OSH management it is vital that you empower your people to make decisions regarding OSH. Encourage your staff to take the initiative when it comes to safety, bringing new ideas on how to improve OSH practices and procedures. Provide your staff with open means of communication to put forward their ideas and importantly allow them to be part fo the implementation process when ideas are taken forward, this again will breed ownership form within and form there self-policing of standards.

 

Reward Success

Rather than reward high production targets that encourage quick work with a dismissive shrug towards safety, reward those workers who have followed all your safety rules and have provided efficient work consistently. By putting an emphasis on safety instead of productivity, you’re rewarding the method of achievement rather than the end result.

 

Continually look for improvement

As with any management program, you should always be looking for ways to improve. OSH Management systems will already have a number of ways embedded that can help identify improvement, such as annual management reviews, audits and inspections etc, all of which are important to the success of your system, however also look at other ways to identify improvements, listen to your staff and gather their thoughts, sometimes the most simple idea for the workforce can have a huge impact upon performance.

 

 Regular Training

Even your best people need a refresher after some time to keep them on track. The best way people learn in any organization is through its culture, but again, your employees at some point will turn complacent at their job and complacency is the most dangerous form of hazard. Refresher training can teach them some new techniques on how to be safe at work, plus it will remind them of their role in safety.

02 404 3800

Copyright 2019 - 2020 All Rights Reserved | Abu Dhabi Occupational Safety and Health Center – OSHAD

تخطي أوامر الشريط
التخطي إلى المحتوى الأساسي

My Campaign Management

عشر طرق لتحسين سلامة مكان العمل

مقدمة:

إذا كان يمكنك خفض التكاليف وتحسين الإنتاجية ورفع الروح المعنوية للعاملين فهل تفعل ذلك؟

 

تنفق الشركات أموالاً طائلة سنوياً في صورة تكاليف مرتبطة بالإصابات والأمراض المهنية – وهي النفقات التي يتم استقطاعها مباشرة من الأرباح.

 

إن أماكن العمل التي تبادر إلى وضع وتطبيق نظم فعالة لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية يمكنها الحد من التكاليف المترتبة على الإصابات والأمراض، وفي أماكن العمل المعاصرة يمكن أن تشكل تلك التكاليف الفارق بين تحقيق ربح أو عجز في العمليات التشغيلية.

 

يساعد وضع وتطبيق النظام أيضاً على تحسين مجالات أخرى في العمل مثل زيادة الإنتاجية وخفض زمن تعطل العمل ورفع الروح المعنوية للعاملين وبالتالي زيادة قيمة الشركة.

 

إن نظام الإدارة الداخلي للشركة يشتمل بالفعل على عدد من المخرجات المطلوبة ومنها عمليات التدقيق والتفتيش وبرامج التدريب وغيرها، إلا إننا نعرض فيما يلي بعض المجالات التي يمكنها المساعدة على تحسين مستويات الأداء من داخل نطاق نظام الشركة.

 

التكامل

أصبح من المعروف في أوساط خبراء الصناعة البارزين إنه إذا لم يتحقق التكامل بين أنظمة الإدارة في الشركة فإن فرص نجاح الشركة تنخفض بشدة، وبالنظر إلى أهمية التكامل فإنه من الضروري اعتبار السلامة والصحة المهنية مكوناً من مكونات نظم الإدارة العامة للعمل، حيث يحقق تكامل نظام إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية مع تلك النظم ليس فقط سهولة أكبر في تطبيق النظام بل يصبح جزءاً من الإدارة اليومية للعمل وهي الخطوة الأولى في تحسين الأداء في هذا المجال ونشر ثقافة سلامة بناءة.   

 

إذا كان لدى الشركة حالياً نظام مستقل لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية ينبغي إجراء تحليل للفجوات والبحث عن المجالات التي يوجد بها ازدواجية في الجهود، ومن المجالات الشائعة في هذا السياق إدارة المتعاقدين والتدريب، وقد يكون لدى الإدارات الأخرى بالفعل نظم خاصة بها، وهنا ينبغي دراسة آلية لإضافة متطلبات السلامة والصحة المهنية إلى إجراءات تلك الإدارات بدلاً من وضع إجراء إضافي مستقل.

 

ينبغي مراجعة كافة مجالات العمل وإيجاد آلية لدمج السلامة والصحة المهنية في مخرجاتها من أجل تحقيق التكامل المنشود، وهنا ينبغي تشجيع العاملين على التفكير في الطريقة المناسبة لتحقيق الأهداف بأمان بدلاً من التفكير في كيف يمكنهم المحافظة على السلامة! 

 

التشاور

من الضروري التشاور مع العاملين عند وضع وتطبيق نظام لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية إذا كانت هناك رغبة حقيقية في نشر ثقافة السلامة وتحسين مستويات الأداء، حيث يساعد ذلك العاملين على تحقيق المزيد من الاستيعاب لكيف تتم الأمور، ويجب إدراج المعلومات التي يدلي بها العاملون في برنامج إدارة المخاطر.

 

الموظفون المؤهلون

لتحقيق النجاح المنشود يجب أن يكون الأشخاص الذين يعملون لإنجاز هذه الرؤية مؤهلين وقادرين على أداء الأدوار والمهام المطلوبة منهم، ويجب أن يتضمن نظام الإدارة آلية لتحديد متطلبات الكفاءة اللازمة لأداء أدوار معينة ومن ثم قياس مستوى كفاءة العاملين بناء عليها، وهو ما يساعد أيضاً على وضع وتنفيذ برامج تدريب داخلية، وهنا يجب التأكد من إدراج السلامة والصحة المهنية ضمن أية تدريبات تستهدف رفع الكفاءة نظراً لأن التكامل لا يزال عاملاً مهماً.    

 

تحديد الأهداف

يجب على الشركة تحديد ما ترغب في تحقيقه من أهداف للأداء في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية ومن ثم تحديد آلية لتحقيقها (أهداف محددة وقابلة للقياس وقابلة للتحقيق وواقعية ومحددة بزمن معين)، علماً بأن الشركات ذات الأداء المتميز لديها برامج موثقة لإدارة الأهداف وهي تخضع للمراجعة والتحديث بانتظام.  

 

عند وضع البرامج ينبغي تقسيمها إلى مراحل تنفيذية صغيرة لها جداول زمنية قابلة للتنفيذ، أي محاولة البعد عن وضع خطة ضخمة على مدار خمس سنوات والتفكير بالأيام بدلاً من ذلك، فمثلا خطة مدتها 100 يوماً سوف يكون تأثيرها أكثر بكثير من خطة مدتها خمس سنوات لأن العاملين سوف يفهمون إنها خطة يتم تنفيذها في الوقت الحالي.    

 

ينبغي توسيع مشاركة العاملين عند وضع البرامج من خلال تشجيعهم على التفاعل والإدلاء بآرائهم وأفكارهم نظراً لأن ذلك سوف يجعلهم يشعرون بأنهم مسؤولون عن البرنامج.

 

يجب ألا تتردد الشركة في تغيير أو تحديث البرامج وخاصة لو كانت لا تلبي التوقعات الحالية.

 

 

القيادة الفاعلة على الأرض

عندما يتبع المديرون والمشرفون أسلوب إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية فإنهم يجعلون الأشياء تحدث بطريقة مباشرة وعملية، أما عندما يتبعون أسلوب قيادة السلامة والصحة المهنية فإنهم يظهرون للعاملين أهمية السلامة ولماذا يجب أن يتحمسوا لتحقيقها ويرغبون في ذلك.    

 

لا يمكن إخفاء التزام القيادة (أو عدم التزامها) نحو تحقيق السلامة في مكان العمل، حيث إن ما تهتم به قيادة المؤسسة هو ما يتحقق على أرض الواقع، وفي المؤسسات المتميزة في ثقافة السلامة تثبت القيادة التزامها بتحقيق السلامة من خلال الأفعال وتقوم بتمكين الآخرين على كافة المستويات بهدف إنجاح مبادراتهم المتعلقة بالسلامة.     

 

لذلك يُنصح بعدم قيام أعضاء من الإدارة العليا بجولات أو زيارات للتفتيش على السلامة، ورغم إن تلك الجولات تبدو جيدة إلا إن الإدارة العليا يجب أن تحرص على المحافظة على السلامة في كافة الأوقات وليس فقط عندما يُطلب منها القيام بتلك الجولات، حيث إن هذا الأسلوب لن يحقق أبداً النجاح المستدام، وهنا يجب دمج مسائل السلامة ضمن الأنشطة اليومية الاعتيادية للقيادات والطلب منهم التفكير في كيف يمكن تحقيق الأهداف بأمان في كافة الأوقات وليس متى يجب المحافظة على السلامة.

 

المساءلة

كما هو الحال مع الأهداف الأخرى في العمل، يجب تقييم مستوى أداء العاملين في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية، وفي الشركات ذات الأداء الضعيف يكون مدير قسم السلامة والصحة المهنية هو الشخص الوحيد الذي لديه أهداف للأداء متعلقة بالسلامة والصحة المهنية رغم كونه الشخص الخطأ تماماً لتحميله هذه المسؤولية نظراً لأن كافة مستويات الإدارة يجب أن يكون لديها أهداف محددة بهذا الشأن وكذلك بشأن النجاح أما البديل الآخر فهو أن يكون لأهداف السلامة والصحة المهنية تأثير مباشر على عملية مراجعة وتقييم الأداء السنوية للعاملين وبالتالي يمثل ذلك حافزاً لتحسين الأداء.    

 

تمكين العاملين

لوضع وتطبيق برنامج فعال لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية من الضروري تمكين العاملين من اتخاذ القرارات في هذا الشأن، ويتم ذلك من خلال تشجيعهم على اتخاذ المبادرات المتعلقة بالسلامة وطرح أفكار جديدة حول طرق تحسين الممارسات والإجراءات ذات الصلة، على أن يتم تزويد العاملين بوسائل مفتوحة للتواصل يمكنهم من خلالها طرح أفكارهم والأهم أن يكونوا جزءاً من عملية تنفيذ تلك الأفكار عند اعتمادها، ومن شأن ذلك أيضاً تعزيز الحس بالمسؤولية لدى العاملين وزيادة حرصهم الذاتي على الالتزام بالمعايير. 

مكافأة الناجحين

عوضاً عن مكافأة من يحققون الأهداف الإنتاجية العالية بما يشجع على إنجاز العمل بسرعة مع تجاهل مسائل السلامة، ينبغي مكافأة العاملين الذين يتبعون كافة قواعد السلامة ويحققون كفاءة مستمرة في العمل، حيث إن التركيز على تحقيق السلامة وليس الإنتاجية يكافئ طريقة الإنجاز بدلاً من النتيجة النهائية.

 

التحسين المستمر

كما هو الحال مع أي برنامج آخر للإدارة، ينبغي دائماً السعي لإيجاد طرق للتحسين المستمر للنظام، وتشتمل نظم إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية بالفعل على عدد من الوسائل التي تساعد على رصد مجالات التحسين الممكنة مثل المراجعة الإدارية السنوية وعمليات التفتيش والتدقيق وغيرها وهي جميعاً مهمة لضمان نجاح النظام، ورغم ذلك ينبغي البحث عن وسائل أخرى لرصد مجالات التحسين، ويشمل ذلك الاستماع إلى آراء وملاحظات العاملين والتعرف على أفكارهم حيث أحياناً ما يكون لأبسط الأفكار لدى العاملين تأثير ضخم على الأداء.     

 

التدريب الدوري

حتى أفضل العاملين يحتاجون إلى تدريبات تذكيرية بعد فترة من الوقت للحفاظ على المستوى المطلوب من المعرفة والمهارات، وأفضل الطرق التي يتعلم من خلالها العاملون في أي شركة هي الثقافة السائدة بها، لكن مرة أخرى يجب الانتباه إلى إن العاملين عند نقطة ما يصبحون واثقين في أنفسهم والثقة الزائدة تعتبر أشد أنواع الأخطار، لذلك يمكن للتدريبات التذكيرية أن تعلمهم بعض الأساليب الجديدة للحفاظ على السلامة في مكان العمل علاوة على تذكيرهم بدورهم في تحقيق تلك السلامة.  

 

  

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2019 - 2020 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لمركز أبو ظبى للسلامة والصحة المهنية – أوشاد