Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

My Campaign Management

OSH COMPLIANCE – COST BENEFITS

OSH COMPLIANCE – COST BENEFITS

OSH COST

Compliance with regulations are generally considered legal obligations. When it comes to compliance with OSH regulations, employers consider them to be a legal burden of investment in resources which apparently are not contributing in business revenues. However, these obligations appear to be appropriate in application when organizations, as a result of non-compliance, face huge losses from preventable serious incidents. The term preventable applies to incidents which can be controlled at an early stage without leading to heavy loses, business disruption, workers’ absenteeism etc.  Lessons learned from incidents therefore suggest cost of incident is always less than the cost incurred in resources and system for OSH management.

In Abu Dhabi Emirate, OSHAD System Framework (OSHAD-SF) provides a comprehensive framework for workplace OSH Management. Back in 2009 when OSHAD-SF v1.2 was launched, OSHAD received feedback from employers and entities that investing in OSH is costing organizations and not paying off. In addition, decision makers at the highest level in the emirate became alarmed from these misconceptions where entities were highlighting only the cost aspect of regulatory compliance and incorrectly linking it with investment in procuring consultancy services for OSH system development, hiring qualified staff for implementation, installing systems / controls as required for OSH risk management and verifying compliance through 3rd party auditing (another cost factor).

However, with time upon witnessing improvements in OSH performance, reduction in workplace incidents and analysis on incidents cost, it became evident that implementation of a robust OSH Management System contributes significantly in entities’ financial and business benefits.

Statistics maintained by OSH regulators (HSE UK, OSHA, etc.) and relevant organizations across the world indicates a huge cost of incidents. According to ILO estimates, there are more than 2.3 million work-related deaths per year, out of which 350,000 are caused by fatal incidents, and close to 2 million by work-related diseases. In addition, 313 million non-fatal incidents occur on the job annually; many of these resulting in injuries and extended absences from work. These estimates imply that every 15 seconds, a worker dies from a work-related incident or disease and 153 workers have a work-related incident. Furthermore, four per cent of the global GDP (roughly 1.25 trillion US dollars) is drained off annually by costs such as lost working time, workers’ compensation, interruption of production, and medical expenses. (Reference: ILO Report on 2015 World Day for Safety & Health at Work)

OSHA U.S estimates that businesses spend $170 billion a year on costs associated with occupational injuries and illnesses; expenditures that come straight out of company profits. But workplaces that establish safety and health management systems can reduce their injury and illness costs by 20 to 40 percent. (Reference: OSHA Publication – Safety & Health Adds Value to Your Business)

All such analysis and statistics clearly suggest, a huge cost saving can be achieved through incident control and thereby improving business revenues. Therefore, the approach shall be; improve business revenue by investing in workplace safety and health management. The saying ‘safety pays’ truly becomes apparent when an entity encounters a serious incident.  

OSHAD-SF – INCIDENT COST

OSHAD being the OSH competent authority of the Emirate recognized industries’ concerns, and therefore felt it important to clarify such misconceptions that investing in safety incurs nothing but a regulatory burden. Awareness sessions have been organized across sectors highlighting the benefits of OSHMS implementation not only in terms of legal compliance but also resulting in huge cost savings through incident control, workers’ good health, plants availability, etc. Compliance with the OSH regulations is therefore acknowledged as revenue generation with an uninterruptable business (incident free operation).

While analyzing mechanism of incidents, cost factors normally revolve around two components: direct cost and indirect expenditures. Direct or measureable cost normally deals with items like losses due to business interruptions, hospital expenses, shutdowns & startups expenses, cost for replacing equipment, repair, maintenance, violations, penalties, insurance, employees’ absenteeism, training refreshers, etc. Whereas, the indirect cost includes factors like investigation cost, impact on organizations’ image, cost for replacing injured worker, overtime, customers’ relationship, marketing, workers’ demotivation, psychic affects, property loss like unfinished or inadequate quality products, etc. Moreover, the mental health of a worker can be seriously affected after an Incident mostly resulting in the loss of confidence permanently affecting the ability to work efficiently.

While releasing OSHAD-SF v2.1 in 2013, OSHAD introduced the cost component in incident reporting (OSHAD-SF Form G1), asking entities to provide the cost related to below listed areas while reporting serious incidents. The objective is to collect the data and undertake analysis to justify that the incident cost is much more than the cost of implementing a legally compliant OSHMS

1.

Injury Cost (Treatment, Hospital, Transport, Insurance, etc.)

2.

Legal Cost (Compensation claims, judicial prosecutions, etc. – Federal Law No. 8)

3.

Productivity Cost (Business disruptions, Delays, Production loss / day, Material, Salaries, etc.)

4.

Asset Cost (Property, Machinery, Equipment, Structure, Vehicle, etc. – Repair & Maintenance)

5.

Asset Cost (Property, Machinery, Equipment, Structure, Material, Vehicle, etc. – Replacement)

6.

Enforcement Action (Penalty Issued by Authority)

7.

Incident Scene / Area Restoration Cost (arrangements to making safe, cleanup, etc.)

8.

Other Cost relevant to / associated with the Incident

 

OSHAD 2014 Serious Incidents Cost Analysis indicated a cost of around AED 6,000 per incident based on the data provided in 120 reported serious incidents. This extremely high cost incurred clearly shows the importance of investing in implementation of an OSHMS.

OSHAD launched the Electronic Database System (Al-ADAA) in 2016 facilitating entities in OSHMS compliance in vital areas including performance reporting, incident notification and reporting. Now, reporting through Electronic Database System (AL-ADAA) includes incident cost analysis module helping entities and decision makers to evaluate the positive impact supported by continual improvement in OSH Performance. Incident analysis in Al-ADAA provides significant insights identifying specific areas, where investment can lead to achieving excellence.

 

OSH RISK MANAGEMENT – COST OPTIMIZATION

ALARP (as low as reasonably practicable) Principle in Risk Management also helps entities in achieving reasonable cost benefits while implementing workplace risk management program. Spending on OSH controls, if carefully reviewed and optimized through risk management principles would not lead to cost burdens rather help entities in implementing cost effective solutions. OSHAD-SF Element 02 on Risk Management requires that entities’ risk management program shall include formulating control measures to reduce the risks to an acceptable and ALARP level. ALARP helps in ensuring that the principal benefits of risk reduction are likely to be secured by targeting resources on a problematic situation and reducing risk from that situation to as low as reasonably practicable, hence no further reductions would be required or beneficial. Cost-benefit techniques are normally employed to determine most effective risk reduction measures. ALARP level is reached when the time, efforts and cost of further reduction measures become unreasonably disproportionate to the additional risk reduction obtained.

OSH COMPLIANCE – COST BENEFITS

OSHAD is successful in gradually changing the misconception about considering OSH as dead investment to the approach that investing in OSH is an integral part of the business development and sustainability. Continual improvement in Abu Dhabi Emirate OSH Performance supports the fact that safety pays to business through an effective incident control, healthy workers and safe workplace.

Workplace OSH Management is therefore important to productivity as awareness on OSH matters and compliance with regulations improves, the risk of incidents and ill-health decreases, and the resulting workers’ physical and mental capacities make them more productive.

 

OSHAD-SF compliance should therefore not be seen as a regulatory burden; it offers significant opportunities. In summary, the benefits for entities investing on OSH include but are not limited to the following:

  • Improvement in OSH performance
  • Reduction in incidents;
  • Reduction in absenteeism;
  • Motivated and productive workforce;
  • Legal compliance;
  • Uninterrupted business leading to boosting productivity and competitiveness;
  • Enhancement in entity’s image and reputation leading to improvement in client and supplier relations;

Workplace OSH Management is an effective business investment as it can enhance and extend existing OSH programs by contributing to keep workers fit and healthy; maintaining their ability to work and allowing them to remain active and productive, while at the same time contributing to the well-being both of employees and their entities with more efficient and profitable working practices. OSH Management is vital, not only because it helps to control incidents, but also because it significantly contributes to productivity and revenues.

OSHAD is continually striving to pursue the Abu Dhabi Govt. vision in providing a safe and healthy workplace for all and reducing work-related incidents, injuries and diseases, monitoring implementation and supporting action at all levels. OSHAD strongly believes that workplace OSH Management always adds value to business helping employers in saving money, improving productivity, and boosting employee morale.

 

02 404 3800

Copyright 2019 - 2020 All Rights Reserved | Abu Dhabi Occupational Safety and Health Center – OSHAD

تخطي أوامر الشريط
التخطي إلى المحتوى الأساسي

My Campaign Management

الجدوى الاقتصادية للامتثال لمتطلبات السلامة والصحة المهنية

الجدوى الاقتصادية للامتثال لمتطلبات السلامة والصحة المهنية

تكاليف الامتثال لمتطلبات السلامة والصحة المهنية

بصفة عامة تنظر جهات العمل إلى الامتثال للوائح المنظمة على إنه تنفيذ لالتزامات قانونية يجب الوفاء بها، في حين تعتبر إن الامتثال للوائح السلامة والصحة المهنية يمثل عبئاً قانونياً يلزمها بالاستثمار في موارد ترى إنها لا تساهم في زيادة الإيرادات، إلا إن هذه الالتزامات تبدو مبررة على أرض الواقع عندما تتكبد المؤسسات – نتيجة عدم امتثالها للمتطلبات – خسائر ضخمة بسبب وقوع حوادث خطيرة كان من الممكن منعها، ويسري مصطلح "حوادث كان من الممكن منعها" على الحوادث التي يمكن التحكم بها في مرحلة مبكرة دون التسبب في خسائر كبيرة أو تعطل العمل أو غياب العاملين وغيرها من النتائج الضارة، ولذلك تؤكد الدروس المستفادة من الحوادث إن التكلفة الناجمة عن وقوع الحوادث الخطيرة عادة ما تكون أكثر بكثير من التكلفة المترتبة على توفير الموارد المطلوبة ووضع وتطبيق نظام لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية.        

في إمارة أبوظبي، يعتبر الإطار العام لنظام إمارة أبوظبي للسلامة والصحة المهنية إطاراً شاملاً لإدارة جوانب السلامة والصحة المهنية في أماكن العمل، وعند إطلاق الإصدار رقم (1,2) من الإطار العام في عام 2009 تلقى مركز أبوظبي للسلامة والصحة المهنية ردوداً من جهات العمل والمؤسسات تعكس رأيها بأن الاستثمار في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية يعتبر مكلفاً ولا يجدي نفعاً، كما إن دوائر صنع القرار على أعلى مستوى في الإمارة قد أبدت قلقها من المفاهيم الخاطئة لدى تلك الجهات التي تركز فقط على عنصر التكلفة المترتب على الامتثال للوائح المنظمة والربط الخاطئ بين الامتثال للمتطلبات والاستثمار في الاستعانة بالخدمات الاستشارية لأغراض وضع وإعداد نظمها الخاصة بإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية وتعيين موظفين مؤهلين لتطبيق النظام وتطبيق النظم/أدوات التحكم المطلوبة لإدارة المخاطر التي تهدد السلامة والصحة المهنية والتحقق من الامتثال من خلال الخضوع للتدقيق على يد جهات خارجية مستقلة (وهو عامل آخر متعلق بالتكلفة).                        

مع مرور الوقت وتحسن مستوى الأداء في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية وانخفاض عدد الحوادث المهنية وتحليل التكلفة المترتبة على الحوادث تبين إن تطبيق نظام فعال لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية يساهم إسهاماً كبيراً في تحقيق فوائد مالية وتجارية للجهات. 

تشير إحصاءات السلطات المنظمة للسلامة والصحة المهنية (الهيئة التنفيذية البريطانية للصحة والسلامة وإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية الأمريكية) والمؤسسات ذات الصلة في مختلف أنحاء العالم إلى وجود تكلفة ضخمة تترتب على الحوادث، ووفقاً لتقديرات منظمة العمل الدولية تقع أكثر من 2,3 مليون حالة وفاة مرتبطة بالعمل سنوياً ومن بينها 350 ألف حالة وفاة ناجمة عن حوادث مميتة وما يقرب من مليوني حالة وفاة ناجمة عن أمراض مهنية، وعلاوة على ذلك يقع 313 مليون حادثاً غير مميت أثناء العمل سنوياَ، ويتسبب كثير من تلك الحوادث في إصابات أو الغياب عن العمل لفترات طويلة، وتشير تلك التقديرات إلى إنه كل 15 ثانية يموت عامل بسبب حادث أو مرض مهني ويتورط 115 عاملاً في حادث متعلق بالعمل، كما إن 4% من الناتج الإجمالي العالمي (حوالي 1,25 تريليون دولار) يستنزف سنوياً بسبب تكاليف مثل تلك المترتبة على ضياع وقت العمل وتعويضات العاملين وتعطل الإنتاج والنفقات الطبية (المرجع: تقرير منظمة العمل الدولية بشأن اليوم العالمي للسلامة والصحة في العمل لعام 2015).  

تشير تقديرات إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية الأمريكية إلى إن المؤسسات تنفق سنوياً 170 مليار دولار على التكاليف المرتبطة بالإصابات والأمراض المهنية، وهي نفقات يتم اقتطاعها مباشرة من أرباح الشركات، إلا إن المؤسسات التي تطبق نظماً لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية يمكنها خفض تكاليف الإصابات والأمراض بنسبة تتراوح بين 20% و40% (المرجع: مطبوعة إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية الأمريكية – السلامة والصحة تضيف قيمة إلى مؤسستك).   

وبذلك تظهر كافة هذه التحليلات والإحصاءات بوضوح إنه يمكن تحقيق وفورات ضخمة في التكاليف من خلال التحكم في الحوادث وبالتالي زيادة إيرادات المؤسسات، ومن هنا يتضح إن الطريقة التي يجب أن تتبعها المؤسسات هي زيادة  الإيرادات عن طريق الاستثمار في إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية، حيث تتأكد المؤسسة من صحة مقولة إن "السلامة تُفيد" عندما تواجه حادثاً خطيراً.             

 

التكاليف المترتبة على الحوادث – الإطار العام لنظام إمارة أبوظبي للسلامة والصحة المهنية

لقد أدرك المركز مخاوف الجهات، وبصفته السلطة المختصة بالسلامة والصحة المهنية في إمارة أبوظبي فقد أخذ المركز على عاتقه تصحيح المفاهيم الخاطئة التي لا ترى في الاستثمار في السلامة سوى مجرد عبئاً تنظيمياً، وقد نظم المركز أنشطة توعوية استهدفت مختلف القطاعات لإلقاء الضوء على الفوائد التي يحققها تطبيق نظام إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية ليس فقط من حيث تحقيق الامتثال للمتطلبات القانونية بل أيضاً من خلال تحقيق وفورات ضخمة في التكاليف عبر التحكم في الحوادث والحفاظ على صحة العاملين وعدم تعطيل العمل في المنشآت وغيرها من الفوائد، وبالتالي ينبغي أن يُنظر إلى الامتثال لمتطلبات السلامة والصحة المهنية على إنه مصدر للإيرادات علاوة على الحماية من تعطل العمل (عمليات تشغيلية بدون حوادث).     

عند تحليل آلية الحوادث يتبين إن عوامل التكلفة تدور عادة حول عنصرين اثنين هما التكاليف المباشرة والنفقات غير المباشرة، أما التكاليف المباشرة أو القابلة للقياس فهي تتعلق بأمور مثل الخسائر الناجمة عن تعطل العمل ونفقات العلاج بالمستشفيات ونفقات وقف التشغيل وإعادة التشغيل وتكاليف استبدال المعدات والإصلاح والصيانة والمخالفات والغرامات والتأمين وغياب العاملين وإعادة التدريب التذكيري وغيرها، أما التكاليف غير المباشرة فتشمل عوامل مثل تكاليف التحقيق والآثار المترتبة على صورة المؤسسة وسمعتها وتكاليف استبدال العامل المصاب بآخر وتكاليف العمل الإضافي وتأثر العلاقات مع العملاء والتسويق وإضعاف دافع العاملين للعمل والآثار النفسية وخسائر الممتلكات مثل المنتجات غير المنتهية أو سيئة الجودة وغيرها من التكاليف، كما إن الصحة العقلية للعامل قد تتأثر بصورة خطيرة عقب وقوع الحوادث مما يتسبب في فقدان الثقة الذي يؤثر بصفة دائمة على قدرة العامل على العمل بكفاءة.     

عند إطلاق الإصدار رقم (2,1) من الإطار العام في عام 2013 أضاف المركز عنصر التكلفة ضمن عناصر الإبلاغ عن الحوادث (النموذج "G1") لمطالبة الجهات بتقديم معلومات حول التكلفة المتعلقة بالمجالات الواردة أدناه عند الإبلاغ عن الحوادث الخطيرة بهدف جمع البيانات وإجراء التحليل اللازم لتوضيح إن التكلفة المترتبة على الحوادث أكثر بكثير من تكلفة وضع وتطبيق نظام لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية وفقاً للمتطلبات القانونية.        

1

تكلفة الإصابة (المعالجة، المستشفى، النقل، التأمين وغيرها)

2

التكاليف القانونية (دعاوى التعويض، الملاحقة القضائية، إلخ – القانون الاتحادي رقم 8)

3

التكاليف الإنتاجية (تعطل العمل، التأخير، خسارة الإنتاج/ الأيام، المواد، المرتبات وغيرها)

4

تكاليف الأصول (الممتلكات، الماكينات، المعدات، الإنشاءات، المركبات وغيرها – الإصلاح والصيانة)

5

تكاليف الأصول (الممتلكات، الماكينات، المعدات، الإنشاءات، المواد، المركبات وغيرها– الاستبدال)

6

قرار الإلزام بالتطبيق (الغرامة الصادرة عن السلطة)

7

مسرح الحادث/تكلفة ترميم المنطقة (إجراءات تأمين المكان وتنظيفه وغيرها)

8

تكاليف أخرى مرتبطة بالحادث

 

أشار التحليل الذي أجراه المركز حول التكاليف المترتبة على الحوادث الخطيرة في عام 2014 إلى إن تكلفة الحادث الواحد بلغت حوالي 6000 درهماً بناء على بيانات 120 حادثاً خطيراً تم الإبلاغ عنه، وتعكس بوضوح هذه التكلفة شديدة الارتفاع أهمية الاستثمار في تطبيق نظم لإدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية.

أطلق المركز نظام "الأداء" (قاعدة بيانات إليكترونية) في عام 2016 لتسهيل مهمة الجهات في الامتثال لمتطلبات نظم إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية في مجالات حيوية تشمل رفع تقارير الإبلاغ عن الأداء والإخطار بوقوع الحوادث والإبلاغ عنها، وحالياً يشمل الإبلاغ من خلال نظام "الأداء" وحدة لتحليل التكاليف المترتبة على الحوادث لمساعدة الجهات ودوائر اتخاذ القرار على تقييم الأثر الإيجابي الذي يحققه التحسين المستمر في مستوى الأداء في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية، ويتيح هذا التحليل تحديد المجالات التي يمكن للاستثمار فيها تحقيق التميز.

 

تحديد التكلفة المثلى في إدارة المخاطر التي تهدد السلامة والصحة المهنية 

عند إدارة المخاطر يساعد مبدأ تخفيض المخاطر إلى أقل مستوى معقول ممكن الجهات في تحقيق فوائد معقولة من التكاليف المتكبدة أثناء تطبيق برنامج لإدارة المخاطر في مكان العمل، حيث إن الإنفاق على أدوات التحكم في السلامة والصحة المهنية – إذا تمت مراجعته وتحسينه بعناية من خلال مبادئ إدارة المخاطر- سوف لن يتسبب في زيادة أعباء التكاليف على كاهل الجهات بل مساعدتها على تطبيق حلول فعالة من حيث مستوى التكاليف. ويتطلب العنصر رقم (2) بشأن "إدارة المخاطر" الوارد ضمن الإطار العام من الجهات وضع وتطبيق برنامج لإدارة المخاطر يتضمن وضع إجراءات تحكم للحد من المخاطر إلى أقل مستوى معقول ممكن ومقبول وهو المستوى الذي يساعد على ضمان تحقيق الفوائد الأساسية لخفض المخاطر عن طريق توجيه الموارد للتركيز على معالجة المواقف الإشكالية وخفض المخاطر المرتبطة بتلك المواقف لأقل مستوى معقول ممكن بحيث لا يكون الوصول لأي مستوى إضافي من الخفض مطلوباً أو مفيداً، وعادة يتم استخدام أساليب تحليل التكاليف في مقابل الفوائد لتحديد الإجراءات الأكثر فعالية في التحكم بالمخاطر، ويتحقق الخفض لأقل مستوى معقول ممكن عندما يكون الوقت والمجهود والتكلفة المطلوبين لاتخاذ مزيد من إجراءات الخفض غير متناسبين منطقيا مع حجم الخفض الإضافي في مستوى المخاطر.        

  

الجدوى الاقتصادية للامتثال لمتطلبات السلامة والصحة المهنية 

يواصل المركز نجاحه في التغيير التدريجي للمفهوم الخاطئ الذي يعتبر الاستثمار في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية استثماراً لا فائدة منه ليصبح ذلك الاستثمار جزءاً لا يتجزأ من تطوير الأعمال واستدامتها، كما إن التحسين المستمر في مستوى الأداء في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية بالإمارة يؤكد حقيقة إن السلامة تفيد المؤسسات من خلال التحكم الفعال في الحوادث والحفاظ على صحة العاملين وسلامة مكان العمل.   

وبذلك تعتبر إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية مهمة لزيادة الإنتاجية في العمل، وكلما ازداد الوعي بتلك المسائل وتحسن الامتثال للوائح المنظمة كلما انخفضت مخاطر وقوع الحوادث والأمراض المهنية وتحسنت القدرات البدنية والذهنية للعاملين ومن ثم مستوى إنتاجيتهم.

بناء على ذلك لا ينبغي اعتبار الامتثال لمتطلبات الإطار العام عبئاً تنظيمياً، بل ينبغي النظر إليه على إنه يوفر فرصاً كبيرة للاستفادة منها، وباختصار تشمل الفوائد التي تعود على الجهات من الاستثمار في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية – على سبيل المثال لا الحصر - ما يلي:     

  • تحسين الأداء في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية
  • الحد من الحوادث
  • الحد من غياب العاملين
  • زيادة دافع العاملين وإنتاجيتهم
  • تحقيق الامتثال القانوني
  • الحماية من تعطل العمل بما يؤدي لزيادة الإنتاج والقدرة على المنافسة
  • تحسين صورة الجهة وسمعتها بما يؤدي لتعزيز العلاقات مع العملاء والموردين

 

تعتبر إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية استثماراً فعالاً حيث يمكنها تحسين وتوسيع نطاق برامج السلامة والصحة المهنية القائمة عن طريق المساهمة في الحفاظ على صحة وسلامة العاملين وقدرتهم على العمل ومواصلة مهامهم وإنتاجيتهم، وفي الوقت نفسه المساهمة في الحفاظ على سلامة العاملين والجهات من خلال تطبيق ممارسات عمل أكثر كفاءة وتحقيقاً للأرباح، وبالتالي فإن إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية تعتبر أمراً حيوياً ليس فقط لأنها تساعد على التحكم في الحوادث بل لأنها أيضاً تساهم إسهاماً كبيراً في زيادة الإنتاجية والإيرادات.

يسعى المركز دائماً إلى تحقيق رؤية حكومة أبوظبي المتمثلة في توفير أماكن عمل صحية وآمنة للجميع والحد من الحوادث والإصابات والأمراض المرتبطة بالعمل ومراقبة تطبيق الإطار العام ودعم الجهود ذات الصلة على كافة المستويات، كما يؤمن المركز بأن إدارة السلامة والصحة المهنية تزيد من قيمة المؤسسات وتساعدها على خفض التكاليف وزيادة الإنتاجية ورفع الروح المعنوية للعاملين.      

 

 

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2019 - 2020 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لمركز أبو ظبى للسلامة والصحة المهنية – أوشاد